Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

unplayable lie

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • unplayable lie

    Hi everybody

    Whilst playing in a mixed foursome, a dispute arose over the following incident:-

    Lady tees off from red tee, ball goes to base of a bush in middle of thick rough and is declared unplayable! The pair decide to return to point where the ball was last played from (the teeing ground) gentleman to play.

    Question - is the ball played from the mens or ladies tee.

    Can't find anything in rule book, or maybe not looking in right place.

    Thanks

    Geoff

  • #2
    Mixed Foursome

    Hi geoffg,

    It is from where the last shot was played, which was the ladies tee.

    This also applies if the following situation occured:

    QUESTION: In a mixed foursome in which the men play from the back tees and the women play from the forward tees, a man hits a tee shot out of bounds. Does his partner play the next stroke from the back tee or the forward tee?

    ANSWER: The partner must play from the back tee.

    Hope this helps

    Comment


    • #3
      Hi Gandalf

      That clears it up nicely thanks.

      One further question though, can the ball be tee'd up?

      Regards

      Comment


      • #4
        Rule 20-5 States:

        When under the Rules, a player elects or is required to play his next stroke from where a previous stroke was played, he shall proceed as follows: If the stroke is to be played from the teeing ground, the ball to be played shall be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed

        so the answer to your question is yes...the ball may be teed for you next shot

        Comment

        Working...
        X